Elizabeth Flann

Elizabeth Flann

Author Beware of Dogs

Winner of the Banjo Prize 2019

  • Beware of Dogs is written as the field diary of Alix Verhoeven, who’s hiding in a tiny cave on a remote Australian island, documenting her isolation and battle for survival against the men who are after her. 
  •  ‘A compelling and utterly gripping tale for fans of Harlan Coben, Karin Slaughter and the Australian classic Wake in Fright’.
    HarperCollins 
  • ‘‘Beware of Dogs’ is exactly the sort of page-turning novel we were looking for’
    HarperCollins fiction publisher Anna Valdinger

Biography

Elizabeth worked for over twenty years in the publishing industry before moving into tertiary education to teach editing, scriptwriting and literature to postgraduate students. She is the co-author of The Australian Editing Handbook, and completed a PhD in 2001 entitled Celluloid Dreaming: Cultural Myths and Landscape in Australian Film 1970-1990. Now retired from teaching, she is able to give full rein to her true love: writing fiction. She lives by a lovely beach in Victoria with a cat and extended family. Beware of Dogs is her first novel. 
Photo credit: Melbourne Headshot Company

Publications

The Australian Editing Handbook 3rd Edition

The ultimate editing handbook, updated for the digital age

The Australian Editing Handbook has become an industry standard, recommended by the Society of Editors, and holds a prominent place on the shelves of writers, editors and students alike. Elizabeth was awarded the Editors Victoria's honorary life membership in 2004.

Learn more

Celluloid dreaming : cultural myths and landscape in Australian film 1970-1990

Examines the way in which cultural myths in selected Australian feature films of the 1970s and 1980s reflect changing attitudes towards nationalism, Australian identity, gender roles, mateship and how the Australian settler culture defines (or fails to define) its relationship with indigenous Australians. PhD Thesis.

Learn more

On the Job: The Geologist

Now out of print

One of Elizabeth's contributions to the work series by Sugar and Snails Press, a non-sexist publishing cooperative of women active from the 70s to the 90s. Subject of a recent blog by a University of Melbourne Archivist, Dr Sebastian Gurciullo.

Learn more

Snapshots from the author's life  

Author photos by Melbourne Headshot Company, all other photos by Christina Flann

Contact

Please fill in the contact form and Elizabeth will be in touch as soon as possible.
If you require high resolution images for publicity use, please specify in your message.
Name Email address Message Submit